Home | Contact Us | Sitemap | Translate
Marriage License Information
Marriage licenses are issued on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM and Wednesday 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM. No Marriage License issued after 4:30 PM.
Marriage License $72.00
Informal License $37.00
OBTAINING A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Must be 18 years of age to apply for a Marriage License.
Both applicants must be present to receive the license (few exceptions, as noted in the Statutes). In the State of Texas, the marriage license is valid for ninety (90) days from the day it is issued. However, after the marriage license is issued there is a 72-hour waiting period before the license becomes valid. The marriage license may be used anywhere in the State of Texas.
Electronic Marriage License Application: Submit your Marriage License application online!
Both applicants must be able to visit the County Clerk’s office in person within 3 days of submitting your application online in order to obtain your marriage license. After 3 days, the application will be removed from our queue and you will need to complete your application again. You may apply in person by visiting our location. You are not required to apply online.
Please note: The 72-hour waiting period goes into effect after the clerk issues your marriage license. The 72-hour waiting period is not based on the date in which your electronic application is submitted.
Underage Marriage License Applicants: A county clerk may not issue a marriage license if either applicant is under 18 and has not presented a court order. See SB1705 Sec. 2.009
Effective September 1, 2017: https://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/85R/billtext/pdf/SB01705F.pdf
To apply for the Marriage License each applicant shall submit:
Valid Government-issued picture ID.
*Proof of identity and age (Driver’s License, State Identification Card, or other document issued by this state or another state, United States or a foreign country; certified copy of applicants birth certificate that is translated)*
*Verbalize the oath printed on the application and sign the application before the county clerk
*If one applicant cannot appear personally, see information on the absent applicant procedures
The Absent Applicant form is available to couples when one of the applicants is not available to apply in person.
Affidavit of Absent Applicant - Please read Instructions carefully.
Absent Applicant Instructions and Form
An Informal Marriage License is available to couples. Both parties must be present to obtain an Informal Marriage License.
***Note: The VS-180, Application for Marriage License, the VS-180.1, Declaration and Registration of Informal Marriage, and the VS-181, Application of Absent Applicant for Marriage License, are for County Clerks Offices use only. Applicants applying for a marriage license must see their nearest county clerk for the application. Applications not received directly from the county clerk's office will NOT be accepted. ***
State-Approved Marriage Counseling Information (EFFECTIVE APRIL 1, 2022)
The Healthy Marriage Program provides voluntary marriage and relationship education skills. Through the Twogether in Texas website you can locate marital, pre-marital and relationship counselors and classes.
To learn more about qualifying for marriage education, enter your ZIP code, city or county in the “Search for Marriage Education Services” field and click search.
To download a copy of the premarital education handbook “When You Get Married” provided by the office of Attorney General under the Texas Family code Section 2.014, please click the link below.
Premarital Education Handbook – English
Premarital Education Handbook – Spanish
To download a copy of HIV/AIDS information fact sheet prepared by the Texas Department of State Health Services, please click the link.
AIDS/HIV Fact Sheet – English
AIDS/HIV Fact Sheet - Spanish
Obtaining a copy of a Marriage License
Certified Copy of License $7.00
Licenses purchased in other counties are not available. Please contact the county where the license was purchased. You may also visit the Texas Department of State Health Services website to view a free Marriage License Index for the State of Texas.
If you are obtaining a certified copy, you will need to provide the following information:
Marriage Record Copy Request Form >> English Spanish
Mail – in requests to: Grayson County Clerk – 100 W. Houston, Suite 17 Sherman, TX 75090
Note: Payment forms include check or money order only. Payment by check must include copy of ID.
Hours of Operation: M-T-TH-F 8:00 to 4:30 W 8:30 to 4:30 for more information, please call
Grayson County, Texas
100 W. Houston
Sherman, Texas 75090
Copyright © - 2022 Grayson County, Texas