A RESOLUTION OF GRAYSON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COURT OF THE STATE OF TEXAS ALLOWING FIREWORKS SALES ON CERTAIN HOLIDAYS

WHEREAS, the Texas legislature now permits the sale of fireworks during certain periods for "Texas Independence Day," "San Jacinto Day", "Memorial Day" and "Diwali".

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Texas Occupations Code, Section 2154.202(h), the dates allowed for such sales of fireworks are:

- 1. Texas Independence Day: February 25, 2024, until midnight, March 2, 2024,
- 2. San Jacinto Day: April 16, 2024, through midnight, April 21, 2024.
- 3. Memorial Day: May 22, 2024, through midnight May 27, 2024; and
- 4. Diwali: October 27, 2024 through October 31, 2024.

WHEREAS, the Grayson County Commissioners Court seeks to permit, consistent with State law, the sale of fireworks during certain periods for New Year's Eve. Texas Independence Day, San Jacinto Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, and Diwali;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Subject to any existing burn bans effective in 2024, the Grayson County Commissioners Court, pursuant to the Texas Occupations Code, Section 2154.202(h), allows the sale of fireworks during the following periods:

- 1. Texas Independence Day: February 25, 2024, until midnight, March 2, 2024;
- 2. San Jacinto Day: April 16, 2024, through midnight, April 21, 2024;
- 3. Memorial Day: May 22, 2024, through midnight May 27, 2024;
- 4. Independence Day: June 24, 2024 through midnight July 4, 2024; and
- 5. Diwali: October 27, 2024 through October 31, 2024.
- 6. New Year's Eve: December 20, 2024 through January 1, 2025.

Adopted this the 30th day of January, 2024, at a regular meeting of the Grayson County Commissioners Court

Bruce Dawsey, County Judge

Commissioner Precinct One

Phyllis James

Commissioner Precing

Art Arthur

Commissioner Precinc

Matt Hardenburg

Commissioner Precinct Four

Attest:

County Clerk

24-003-Res